Student Judiciary

The ASM Student Judiciary oversees ASM elections and resolves disputes between the Associated Students of Madison and other parties. Seven student justices recommended by the Nominations Board and approved by Student Council comprise the Student Judiciary, serving four-year terms each.

The Student Election Commission (SEC) is a subcommittee of the Student Judiciary that plans and executes the election. It is comprised of a Chair and Vice-Chair and a number of hired commissioners who work on many different aspects of the election ranging from design and advertising to candidate outreach.

Student Judiciary decisions are organized, summarized, and compiled in the Digest of Reported Opinions of the Student Judiciary of the Associated Students of Madison.

The Student Judiciary hears and decides cases regarding a variety of subjects:

  • Viewpoint neutrality appeals involving the appropriation of funds
  • Election complaints about candidate conduct or referenda restrictions
  • Complaints on discipline of a Registered Student Organization
  • General disagreement arising under the laws of ASM

Regular business meetings will begin in late September. Click here to view meeting agendas.

Contact the Chief Justice, for media relations, open records requests, and general information regarding Student Judiciary operations and procedures.

Student Judiciary Members

Honor Durham

Position title: Student Election Commission Chair


Grace Woo

Position title: General Counsel


Allie Chang

Position title: Vice Chief Justice of the Student Judiciary


Rishika Gaddamanagu

Position title: Chief Justice of the Student Judiciary


Ben Sevart

Position title: Associate Justice


Ellen Stojak

Position title: Associate Justice